Mar 5, 2011

Loudoun Clerk of Courts

Loudoun was one of the first countries which enabled you to complete your marriage application on line, prior to visiting the Courthouse.

Once you both arrive together with valid state or government photo identifications (i.e. valid driver’s license, passport or military identification) and a fee of $30 cash, it will take approximately 10 to 15 minutes to receive your marriage license. Marriage licenses are issued Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. You should plan to arrive in our office by 3:30 p.m. to allow sufficient time for the Clerk’s staff to prepare your marriage license.

You may complete your application prior to arriving at the Loudoun County Clerk’s office by clicking on this link: Marriage License Application.

The Clerk of the Circuit Court  --  History of the Old Courthouse:
image of Loudoun County Courthouse 
Loudoun County was formed in 1757 from a branch of Fairfax County.

Loudoun County is named after John Campbell, who was the Fourth Earl of Loudoun and a Scottish nobleman. Campbell, at the time, was the titular governor of Virginia, from 1756-1758, and a former Commander in Chief of the British armed forces in Virginia.

Most of Leesburg was founded on the property of Nicholas Minor, who petitioned the General Assembly for the construction of a town on his land. Originally named Georgetown after King George I of England, the town’s name was later patriotically changed to Leesburg, in honor of Francis Lightfoot Lee, a signer of the Declaration of Independence. This name change was an excellent way for Leesburg to show its faith and support of our newly founded country.

No comments:

Post a Comment